Steps required for obtaining a burn permit have changed. Unfortunately, the convenience of obtaining the permit from Berthoud Fire Protection District is no longer available. Berthoud Fire Protection District provides coverage for three different counties and each county has their own process for issuing burn permits, please look below at the county you will be burning in for further information.
No burn permits will be issued for Larimer County May 1st – September 30th.
Outside of these months, You must first obtain a permit from Larimer County before you burn. You can do this several ways, the easiest being their website. That site can be reached here if you are in Larimer County. Read the information on the page, and then scroll towards the bottom to obtain the actual permit. After you have submitted your request for your permit, the county will then approve/disapprove your request. You will receive an email of this notification, letting you know its status. The required authorities here at the fire department also receive the same email, will then review the permit and give the final approval/disapproval. Generally, the duty crew will want to do a site survey to ensure what you are burning is safe and to see the conditions around the burning area. You will be called to set up this appointment.
Most outdoor burning in Larimer County requires a permit signed by both your local fire department and the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment. The fire department evaluates applications for potential fire safety issues, while the health department evaluates air quality issues that can impact human health. Open burning in Larimer County is regulated by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment/Air Pollution Control Division under Colorado Air Quality Control Commission’s Regulation One and Regulation Nine. Open burning without a permit is illegal and can result in fines of up to $10,000 per day.
This website gives specific information about open burning in Larimer County and allows an applicant to fill out an on-line permit application and submit them electronically. Additionally, it is recommended that digital photos of the material you’re requesting to burn be attached or downloaded onto the application (photos may preclude a site inspection and release the permit to you sooner). PLEASE review the following three sections which apply to ALL burn permits issued:
Documents to review prior to applying
Print the Burn Application Form, fill it out, mail it to:
Larimer County Department of Health and Environment
1525 Blue Spruce Dr.
Fort Collins, CO 80524
- Routine yard and garden clean-up waste
- Construction debris
- Household garbage
- Materials that produce excessive smoke (cattails, plastic, etc.)
- Commercial/Business waste
- Pile debris in open areas away from standing timber and structures.
- Piles should be no larger than 8 feet wide and 6 feet high.
- There must be a minimum of 3 inches of snow cover around piles.
- There shall be no burning when current or expected winds exceed 10 miles per hour.
- Fires must be constantly attended by a competent and non-impaired person.
- Always have water, a rake, and a shovel available.
- Attend all fires until completely out.
- All burning must be extinguished by nightfall.
All residents in areas of Larimer County must obtain a General Open Burn Permit to burn clean, dry wood debris through the Larimer County Department of Health & Environment. The open burn period ‘season’ is from October 1 thru May 1, and is ALWAYS dependent upon favorable conditions existing (3 inches+ of snow on ground, light wind, daylight burning only) before ignition can occur. The General Open Burn Permit is typically used for wildfire mitigation or land stewardship efforts by mountain landowners and has a limit of 50 slash piles or less per year. Slash is defined as clean dry branches four inches or less in diameter, not containing other smoke producing materials, a slash pile size is ~ 6′ high X 8′ diameter. Applications will not be processed until one week before the start of the open burn period.
A Specialty Burn Permit must be obtained for conducting agricultural ditch burns, bon fires, or other fires containing non-prohibited materials. These are reviewed at the local fire department. Attaching digital photos for review of material types and specific safety guidelines is encouraged and may expedite the permitting process.
You must first obtain a permit from Boulder County before you burn. You can do this several ways, the easiest being their website. That site can be reached here if you are in Boulder County. Read the information available on that page, and then proceed to the links on the left to obtain the actual permit. After you have submitted your request for your permit, the county will then approve/disapprove your request. You will receive an email of this notification, letting you know its status. The required authorities here at the fire department also receive the same email, will then review the permit and give the final approval/disapproval. Generally, the duty crew will want to do a site survey to ensure what you are burning is safe and to see the conditions around the burning area. You will be called to set up this appointment.
Boulder County allows citizens to burn the following on their property with a permit:
A slash pile is made up of vegetative material that has been concentrated by manual or mechanical means into a pile measuring no more than 6’ wide by 6’ tall.
Often thought of as a “prescribed burn,” broadcast burns are defined as, “the controlled application of fire to wildland fuels in their natural or modified state over a predetermined area.” Broadcast burns are often conducted to reduce wildland fire fuel loads, restore the ecological health of an area, or to clear weeds.
How to Obtain a Burn Permit in Boulder County
- Read the Guide to Burning (1 MB) for expert tips and instructions on how to burn safely.
- Ensure no reasonable alternatives exist to disposing of your material.
- Ensure your planned burn complies with all regulations & requirements listed on the Quick Guide (79 KB)
- Complete the burn permit application for your burn. You will be notified within 20 days whether your application was approved or denied.
- Receive your burn permit by mail or email within 20 days of submitting application
Before continuing to the application, be sure you have…
- Considered alternatives to burning
- Read the required Guide to Burning (1 MB)
- Printed and completed a burn plan (810 KB) – (Broadcast burns only)
Open Burn Permits
View locations of valid Boulder county burn permits
Burn Permit Ordinance #2014-1 (489 KB)
Agricultural burns DO NOT require a permit.
You must first obtain a permit from Weld County before you burn. You must visit their offices in Greeley to do this at:
Weld County Department of Health & Environment
Environmental Health Services, Air Pollution Control
1555 North 17th Avenue
Open Burning Permits are available in all areas of Weld County except those where there are ordinances or codes that ban open burning, such as:
- Selected Municipal towns or cities
- Some Fire Districts
Open Burning Permits may be obtained:
- Online Here
- In person at the Weld County Department of Public Health and Environment, Environmental Health Services, 1555-N. 17th Avenue, Greeley, or,
- The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Air Pollution Control Division, 4300 Cherry Creek Dr. South, Denver.
Open Burning for which a permit has been obtained may NOT be conducted on any ‘RED’ Air Quality Alert Day that is determined for the 9-county Front Range area that includes Weld County. The Open Burning Permit is NOT VALID on “RED” Air Quality Alert Days.”
There are several exemptions as to whether or not you need to obtain a burn permit. You may call their offices before going there to be sure you need one at (970) 304-6415 or (970) 304-6411. The required authorities here at the fire department also need to be notified via a phone call from you after you have received approval from Weld County. Generally, the duty crew will want to do a site survey to ensure what you are burning is safe and to see the conditions around the burning area.
All Counties: On the day you are ready to burn and after all approvals have been received, ensure burning is permitted and there is no “Red- Flag” for that day- (questions, call 970-532-2264), or if you are passing through town, look for the red flag flying at either station in Berthoud. Generally, if there is a burn ban in effect, our homepage will warn you against burning.
If you see this flag or have visited our website with the “no burning” posted, please recognize that due to weather conditions and warnings, all burning is banned and we strongly urge you not to do so for your safety, and the safety of others and their property. Fines and legalities will be issued upon disregard of these conditions. For more open burning safety tips and regulations.